A brief history of “Le Petit Chicago”...

“Le Petit Chicago” is both the remnant of a long evocative past for the Old Town of Hull, and it is now an important element which has an impact on the social and cultural development of the city of Gatineau and its downtown, the Old Town of Hull.

Since the end of the 18th century, Hull has seen a series of important development periods, first economic and social, and then cultural. At the beginning of the 19th century, a limited number of American promoters such as Philemon Wright settled in to take part in the timber trade. Over generations, its small population of 420 (in 1861) experienced a marked growth. The technological innovations in the pulp and paper sector have greatly contributed to that economic boom.

Afterwards, the very profitable industry of matches developed by Ezra Butler Eddy (E.B. Eddy) caused a succession of major fires in Hull. On the 100th anniversary of its foundation, Hull was ravaged by what would become known as the “Great Fire”. A total of three additional major fires will ravage the urban landscape during the 20 years that followed.

While Hull was adding up its fires and its dwellers were working hard to rebuild their beautiful town, the First World War was ending. South of the border, the temperance movements were growing. Activists were mostly supported by pastors who didn’t wish to see the happy after-war period tarnished by excesses and abuses. The 28th President of the United States, Woodrow Wilson, who served from 1913 to 1921, was also an advocate for the movement. On October 28th, 1920, the Volstead Act officially prohibited bars to sell liquor. There was a fierce opposition amongst the population who saw this as an impediment to their personal liberties. With people becoming unsatisfied, the most daring developed the parallel trade of alcohol smuggling. Risks were considerable, so was the economic greed…

Al Capone saw in it the opportunity to pursue his illicit activities, and it’s in Canada that they were trading the alcohol shipments with a certain peace of mind. Although the Prohibition has been a part of the Canadian scene, the province of Quebec applied the Prohibition only for a few weeks. The simmering discontent of the French Canadians got the better of this ultraconservative measure. So while our neighbours, south of the border, were preaching abstinence and good sense in public only to meet in the thousands of speakeasies, it was party time in Quebec. It’s in Hull that it all took shape with the opening of gambling houses, bars, lodger rooms, and the installation of public benches for hobos. Since Al Capone was from Chicago and because of his presence during that boom, people started to affectionately call the place “Le Petit Chicago” or Little Chicago. Al Capone, his accomplices, gangsters of all kinds, liberated women, and musicians were flocking by the thousands.

The biggest names in jazz and music performed in Hull during that thriving inter-war period (1919-1939): amongst the most famous, we have Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald, as well as one of our talents, La Bolduc.

“Le Petit Chicago” has long been associated with the best musicians, parties and long memorable nights.

It’s the muddled history of the past and today’s mission that we proudly share with everyone since 2004.

X

Une brève histoire du Petit Chicago...

Le Petit Chicago est à la fois le vestige d'un long passé évocateur pour l'ancienne ville de Hull et désormais un élément important qui a son impact dans le développement social et culturel de la ville de Gatineau et de son centre-ville, le Vieux-Hull.

Depuis la fin du 18e siècle, Hull a connu une série d’importantes périodes de développement, d'abord économiques et sociales puis, culturelles. Au début du 19e siècle, un nombre limité d’entrepreneurs américains tel que Philemon Wright vint s'y établir pour participer au commerce du bois. Au fil des générations, sa petite population de 420 habitants (en 1861) explosa ; les innovations technologiques dans le domaine des pâtes et papiers ayant grandement contribué à ce boom économique.

Par la suite, l’industrie très profitable des allumettes développée par Ezra Butler Eddy (E.B. Eddy) a causé une succession de grands feux à Hull. À son 100e anniversaire de fondation, soit en 1900, Hull tomba victime de ce qu’on se souviendra comme étant le « Grand Feu ». Au total, trois autres feux tout aussi importants ravageront le paysage urbain pendant les 20 années qui se succèderont.

Alors que Hull additionnait ses feux et que ses habitants travaillaient d’arrache-pied à rebâtir leur belle ville, la Première Guerre mondiale se terminait. Chez nos voisins du sud, les mouvements de Tempérance croissaient en importance. Ceux-ci étaient principalement soutenus par les pasteurs désireux de ne pas voir l’heureuse période de l’après-guerre être ravagée par les excès et les abus. Le 28e Président des Etats-Unis, Woodrow Wilson, en poste de 1913 à 1921, était également du nombre de porte-étendards du mouvement. Le 28 octobre 1920, la Loi Volstead interdit officiellement la vente d’alcool dans les bars. L’opposition était féroce au sein du public qui voyait ceci comme un empêchement à leurs libertés personnelles. Alors que la grogne se faisait sentir, les plus entreprenants développèrent le commerce parallèle du trafic d'alcool. Les risques étaient considérables et l’appât du gain d’autant plus…

Al Capone y a vu l’occasion d’accroître ses activités illicites et c’est au Canada que l’on faisait transiger les cargaisons d’alcool avec une certaine tranquillité d’esprit. Bien que la Prohibition ait fait partie du décor canadien, le Québec aura appliqué la Prohibition pendant seulement quelques semaines. La gronde des French Canadians aura eu raison de cette mesure ultra conservatrice. Ainsi, pendant que chez nos voisins du sud on prêchait l’abstinence et la réserve en public pour alors se retrouver l’heure venue dans les milliers de speakeasy, l’heure était à la fête au Québec et c’est à Hull que la chose se sera le plus matérialisée : on y installa maisons de jeux, bars, chambres pour pensionnaires et bancs publics pour clochards. Comme Al Capone était originaire de Chicago et le fait de sa présence durant ce boom, les gens se sont mis à affectueusement nommer l’endroit Le Petit Chicago, ou Little Chicago. Al Capone, ses acolytes, bandits de tout horizon, femmes libérées et musiciens y affluaient par milliers.

Les plus grands noms du jazz et de la musique performeront à Hull durant cette période prospère de l’Entre Deux Guerres (1919-1939) : parmi les plus célèbres, on retrouve Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald, sans oublier notre talent québécois, La Bolduc.

Le Petit Chicago a longtemps été associé aux meilleurs musiciens, la fête et les longues soirées mémorables.

C’est à la fois l'histoire feutrée du passé et la mission actuelle que nous partageons fièrement depuis 2004 avec toutes et tous.

X